BrownFemiPower and BlackAmazon

I know you don’t know me. I’ve visited BFP regularly, and recently discovered BA’s site. I’ve been in awe of WoC bloggers since this game phenomenon started.

I try to blog, and I do, for a while. I might even get a really good essay out. Then life takes over, or I get depressed, or just disgruntled with my output.

I love reading WoC who can evoke what I feel every day of my life. Sometimes angrier, sometimes not as angry, but I love it. I feel like I can join them in this great, 24-hour klatsch. But I don’t feel I can do it regularly.

Then Amanda Marcotte happens. And people take breaks from the internets. And I don’t want them to.

I’m going to wish them health and happiness. And I’m going to have to write more. Maybe if people realize women of color aren’t fading back into Black Voices or BlackPlanet, they’ll actually do some work on their privilege, at least to shut us uppity/attitudinal/loud cuhlud guls up.

Leave a Reply

